Skip to navigation Skip to content

Birmingham Leadership Class


May 11, 2017
6:30 PM CST - 8:30 PM CST

2 hours

In Person

The Harbert Center
2019 4th Ave N Suite 100
Birmingham, AL 35203
See Map



Powerful People Promoting High Ideals

The MS Leadership Class fundraising campaign was established by the Alabama - Mississippi Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society to honor senior level professionals for their outstanding contributions to the business, civic, and cultural betterment of local areas. The Alabama - Mississippi Chapter started this event in 1994 by honoring community leaders for promoting high ideals with a definite sense of purpose, for taking pride in a job well done and for making this community a better place.

The members of the MS Leadership Class campaign have demonstrated the ability to make a difference in the quality of the lives of others. Because of their efforts, these leaders were invited to partner with the National Multiple Sclerosis Society in its movement to create a world free of MS. Through participation in the campaign, members have an opportunity to build a network with other business professionals who are also committed to a vision of a better community and a better world. Each year, the Class event has grown in dollars raised. A total of more than $2.1 million has been raised since the event’s inception. This money is used to fund vital research in multiple sclerosis and to provide important programs and services to people with MS and their families.

Benefits of Participation

Each member of the Leadership Class will:

  • Receive the prestigious MS Leadership Award

  • Receive a photograph of the Class (taken at the Leadership Class reception)

  • Gain recognition as an outstanding achiever through an advertisement in The Birmingham Business Journal.

  • Generate publicity for his or her business as one that supports community involvement.

  • Gain a feeling of satisfaction that comes from helping in the quest to cure a devastating disease that affects young adults.

For more information on how you can be a part of the Leadership Class, please contact Cheri Shenefelt.

Congratulations to our 2016 Birmingham Leadership Class


The Birmingham MS Leadership Class campaign annually honors senior level professionals nominated for their outstanding contributions to the business and cultural betterment of our community. The National MS Society, Alabama-Mississippi Chapter thanks the members of the Class of 2016 for their accomplishments and for raising over $85,000 to fund programs, services and research supporting those living with MS.

Front row seated
(left to right), Jason McCracken, Mc2Development Team; Allen Cravens, Hoar Construction, LLC; Leann Neal, UAB School of Engineering; Rebecca Early, Brik Realty; Caitlyn Smith, Butler Snow, LLP; Sarah Fisk, Brik Realty; Jason Lovoy, Infomedia, Inc.; Cooper Smith, J.H. Berry & Gilbert, Inc.; Jason Bushby (Class Valedictorian), Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP.
Second row (left to right), Matthew J. Cannova, Maynard, Cooper & Gale, P.C.; Stewart McCloud, Huie, Fernambucq & Stewart, LLP; Steve Manown, Brasfield & Gorrie, LLC;  Sridhara Gutti, Essnova Solutions, Inc.; Cody Robinson, Home Fit Consulting; David Dutton, Dutton Group, LLC; Brian McCarthy, Birmingham Orthodontics; Dr. James Newsome, Norwood Clinic.
Third row (left to right), Clay Brunson, ITT Technical Institute; Tyler McGill, Altec, Inc.; Jonathan Hoffmann, Balch & Bingham, LLP; Justin R. Johnston, Community of Hope Health Clinic; Mark Emanuelsen, Vuepoint Diagnostics; William A. “Drew” Ellis, Cloud & Willis, LLC; Clayton McKinnon, Hoar Construction, LLC; Baker Findley, Corley Moncus, PC; Wilson Nash, Brasfield & Gorrie, LLC;  Bill Heath, DeAngelis Diamond.
Back row (left to right), Adam Baxter, CBRE Global Corporate Real Estate Services; Andrew Lewis, Southern Company; Brian Turner, CTS; Honorary Chair, Charles A. Powell IV, Littler Mendelson, P.C.; Owen Moore, Hoar Construction, LLC; Bradford Botes,; Jeff Hill, DeAngelis Diamond.
Not pictured, Archie Abrams, BlueCross BlueShield of Alabama; Owen Anderson, G&K Services; Brad Avery, Rives Construction; Natalie Bolling, Baker Donelson; Jen Cook, Dudley, Hopton-Jones, Sims & Freeman, PLLP; Brad Edmonds, Metro Monitor; Eric Essary, EBSCO Capital; Mac Greene, BBVA Compass; Nate Harrington, WIAT CBS 42 News; Scott McDuffie, Willis Towers Watson; Carol Riney, Bella’s Bridal & Formal; Lindsey Simmons, King Simmons, PC; Trey Whitt, Dent Moses, LLC; Sam Wilcox, Altec Capital Services, LLC.


Contact information

Cheri Shenefelt


Chapter HomeReturn to Events