Annual Research Symposium 2014 - National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Annual Research Symposium 2014


September 13, 2014
12:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Convene (TIAA-CREF building)
730 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10017
See Map

Saturday, September 13, 2014
Convene (TIAA-CREF building)
730 Third Ave., NYC 10017
(Between 45th and 46th Streets)
Click here to register for New York City Location.

Sunday, September 14, 2014
Crowne Plaza Hotel
66 Hale Ave.
White Plains, NY 10601       
Click here to register for White Plains location.

12:30 – 5:00 p.m.

Keynote Presentation:
“Clinical Trials for Brain Repair in MS”

Ari Green, M.D.
Dr. Ari Green is spearheading one of the first clinical trials to restore myelin damaged by MS.

Additional presentations:
New Developments in MS Research
Jeff Haines, Ph.D.
Treatment Advances and Environmental Factors that Modify the Course of Multiple Sclerosis.
Brian Apatoff, M.D., Ph.D.

To register by phone call 1-800-344-4867.
Registration is free and includes lunch.
Registration deadline: September 5, 2014.

People living with MS, their family and friends, and health care professionals are encouraged to attend.

Researchers are working tirelessly to discover new ways to treat multiple sclerosis and ultimately stop, repair and end the disease forever. This year’s program will focus on one of the first clinical trials to restore myelin damaged by MS in the brain, discuss advancements in future disease modification therapies and present an overview of the projects currently funded by the Society.

The keynote speakers are Dr. Ari Green, who is spearheading one of the first clinical trials to restore myelin damaged by MS, Dr. Brian Apatoff, who will provide an update on the latest advancements in disease modifying therapy research, and Dr. Jeffery Haines who will present an overview of Society funded research.

Invitamos a nuestros miembros hispanos viviendo con EM a participar en este programa utilizando los servicios de un intérprete certificado. Si desea más información o para inscribirse llame al 1-800-344-4867, opción 3.
AVISO: Para utilizar el servicio de interpretación, el último día para inscribirse es el  5 de septiembre 2014.

Our programs fill up quickly. While we fully understand you may need to cancel for various reasons, we ask that whenever possible you let us know in advance if you cannot attend a program you've registered for. This will help reduce our costs and enable people on a waiting list to join us.

Speaker Bios

Ari Green, M.D.

Dr. Ari Green is the Debbie and Andy Rachleff Distinguished Professor of Neurology and the Medical Director of both the Neuroinflammation and Multiple Sclerosis and Neurodiagnostics Centers at UCSF.  He is also an Associate Professor of Neurology and Ophthalmology at the University.  He received his MD from Duke University and spent two years as a Howard Hughes Predoctoral Fellow in the laboratories of Dr. Jorge Oksenberg and Dr. Stephen L Hauser. Dr. Green was awarded the first AAN/NMSS Early Career Award in 2005. He received an MCR from the UCSF Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and an NIH sponsored K award from the UCSF Clinical-Translational Science Institute in 2007. In 2008 he received an early career award from HHMI and was named a National MS Society Harry Weaver Neuroscience Scholar in 2012.  He runs a translational laboratory dedicated to helping the accelerated development of therapeutics targeting neurodegeneration by helping to identify early, appropriate candidates for treatment and helping to rapidly measure neuroprotection.  A major clinical focus of his laboratory is clinically relevant remyelination and together with his colleague Dr. Jonah Chan he developed the Small Molecule Remyelination Program at UCSF in 2013. 

Dr. Green's lecture will focus on our understanding of disability and neurodegeneration in MS and the developing story of the new Small Molecule Program in Remyelination including the design and intention of a clinical trial program investigating a promising medicine for possible remyelination in MS patients. 

Brian Apatoff, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Brian R. Apatoff received his MD and PhD degrees from The University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine.  He did his medical training in Boston at the Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, and then completed his neurology residency at The Neurological Institute of Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center where he served as Chief Resident.  He subsequently performed a National Multiple Sclerosis Society Research Fellowship at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and The Scripps Research Institute and Clinic.
Dr. Apatoff is the Director of the Multiple Sclerosis Institute, and is Clinical Associate Professor and Attending Neurologist at New York-Presbyterian Hospital, Weill Medical College of Cornell University.  The Institute offers the most advanced treatment protocols and investigational therapies for multiple sclerosis.

He is board-certified in Neurology, and serves on the Clinical Advisory Committee of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.  He has been listed in the “Best Doctors” by Castle-Connolly for the past decade.  He is the recipient of a Clinical Investigator Development Award from the National Institutes of Health, and has performed numerous investigational new drug clinical trials in multiple sclerosis.

Jeff Haines, Ph.D.

Dr. Jeffery Haines’ work in the field of multiple sclerosis research began in 2001 during his undergraduate training in biochemistry at the University of Guelph, in Guelph, Ontario, Canada.  He went on to receive a Doctorate of Philosophy degree in Pharmacology and Therapeutics from McGill University, where he studied the cellular communication pathways oligodendrocytes use when making myelin.  He was the two-time awardee of the McGill Principal's Excellence Prize for leadership and academic excellence, and the recipient of the 2010 McIntosh Prize for the top graduating Pharmacology student.  In addition to his time researching some of the most needed solutions for MS, Dr. Haines is an avid volunteer with the NYC-SNY Chapter of the NMSS, where his contributions to the Chapter were recognized in 2012 with the Volunteer of the Year Award. His goals as a member of the Chapter's Clinical Advisory Committee are to increase the accessibility of research findings to society stakeholders, and devise strategies to attract some of the brightest minds to MS research.

Contact information



Chapter HomeReturn to list