WAMS - National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Women Against MS



2014 Event Photos

In Person

The Women Against MS (WAMS) Luncheon, one of the National MS Society's premier fundraising campaigns, is an empowering way for women to unite with other women in the movement to create a world free of MS.

While much remains unknown about MS, researchers know that multiple sclerosis affects women in far greater numbers than men. In fact, four times more women than men are diagnosed with this unpredictable disease. Across the nation, women from all walks of life are joining together through the WAMS initiative. WAMS serves to educate women about MS and to broaden their knowledge about the work and mission of the National MS Society. Funds raised through this annual luncheon and auction are dedicated to services and programs for local people living with MS, in addition to research into the cause, cure and treatment of the disease. 


The National MS Society honored Anne Morrissey with the Woman of Spirit Award at the 2014 Women Against MS Luncheon on May 22. Anne is President and Chief Operating Officer at AmeriHealth Caritas. An industry-leading company specializing in Medicaid managed care, AmeriHealth Caritas is a mission-driven organization with a special concern for the health care of the poor. Ms. Morrissey embraces this transformational time in health care, which will require the cooperation of insurers, providers and patients to support the future success of Medicaid managed care. Under her leadership, AmeriHealth Caritas has grown to become a $5 billion company, serving more than 5 million people in 15 states plus the District of Columbia.

The Luncheon also featured Dr. Brenda Banwell, world renowned MS researcher and chief of neurology at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

Presenting Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

       Greco and Morrissey Families

Gold Sponsors



Silver Sponsors

  • Boston Consulting Group
  • Diversified Search
  • Genzyme
  • MTS Health Partners
  • PECO
  • PerformRx
  • WHYY


Committee List

Women Against MS Founding Chair

Linda J. McAleer


Women Against MS Luncheon Co-Chairs

Terry D'Alessandro

Rosemarie B. Greco

Molly D. Shepard


Women Against MS Luncheon Committee

Tina Dabrow

Laura Grossi-Tyson, Esq.

Linda Kirson

Linda Kraemer, PhD

Carol Martin

Lisa M. Mayo

Lenore Millhollen

Betsy Nice

Arleen R. Weitz, CMP


Women Against MS Luncheon Strategic Roundtable

Kathy Albanese

Dan Calista

Marci Dwyer

Amy Frazier

Irene Hannan

Susan Jacobson

Kyra McGrath

Afaf I. Meleis, PhD, DrPS(hon), FAAN

Karen Najmola

Sue Negrey

Maria Pajil Battle

Kristina Parker

Elizabeth Reeves

Karen Robbins

Dianne Semingson

Dana Smith

Autumn Staats

Leslie Stiles

Lynn Yeakel


Contact information

Kristina McGraw


Chapter HomeReturn to Events