Public Policy Conference - National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Skip to navigation Skip to content

National MS Society 2015 Public Policy Conference

March 9-11, 2015

Share

In this article

Welcome

This page will provide MS activists with everything you need to prepare for the National MS Society’s 2015 Public Policy Conference (PPC) and visits to Capitol Hill. Please check back often, as items will be added as the PPC approaches.

Register for the conference

Each attendee must register by February 23, online. There are no registration fees. If you run into complications registering, see these instructions and FAQ.

Reserve your hotel room

If you need a hotel room, make your reservations by February 23 online or call 1-800-228-9290. The conference room rate is $287/night + state/local taxes. For all accessible hotel room needs, please contact Doris Lill as explained in the “Accessibility Needs” section below.

Travel arrangements

Arrival and Departure Times

  • Arrive at the hotel by 2:30 p.m. on Monday, March 9 (GRC Chairs, District Activist Leaders and chapter advocacy staff participating in pre-conference meetings should arrive around 11:45 a.m.).
  • Your departure time on Wednesday, March 11, will depend on when your state delegation completes its visits on Capitol Hill.

Airports and Train Stations

Accessibility needs

  • Hotel Rooms: If you or a loved one requires an accessible hotel room, please email Doris Lill or call 303-698-6167 as soon as possible so that we can actively ensure that all attendee needs are met. Accessible hotel rooms will be assigned on a first come, first serve basis.
  • Airport Shuttle: A free accessible shuttle will be available between Reagan National Airport (DCA) and the hotel. A shuttle schedule will be posted soon.
  • Transportation to/from Capitol Hill: Your or a loved one's need for accessible transportation to/from Capitol Hill on Wednesday should be indicated in conference registration. Once your state’s Hill visits are scheduled, Society staff will coordinate departure and return times.
  • Mobility, PCAs and Medical Equipment: If you or a loved one requires a wheelchair or scooter, a personal care attendant and/or medical equipment while at the conference, please make arrangements in advance by contacting one of these local providers.

Conference trainings

  • Conference & Capitol Hill 101 Training: If you have never attended the Public Policy Conference or visited Capitol Hill, we urge you to attend a webinar training on Tuesday, February 24 from 3:00 – 4:00 PM eastern (2 – 3 PM central; 1 – 2 PM mountain; Noon – 1 PM Pacific; 11 AM – Noon Alaska; 10 – 11 AM Hawaii). Training registration information will be posted soon.
  • PPC Prep Training: We urge all conference attendees to attend a webinar training on Thursday, February 26 from 3:00 – 4:00 PM eastern (2 – 3 PM central; 1 – 2 PM mountain; Noon – 1 PM Pacific; 11 AM – Noon Alaska; 10 – 11 AM Hawaii). Training registration information will be posted soon.

Capitol hill visits & issue priorities

Scheduling Capitol Hill Visits:

  • Visit Coordinators: Each state has a designated Visit Coordinator who is responsible for scheduling that state’s Capitol Hill visits. Visit Coordinators are to enter all scheduled Capitol Hill visits into this online system. If you experience difficulty entering visits, please refer to these instructions.
  • Sample Hill Visit Request: Some congressional offices require a formal visit request. Here is a sample visit request.

During Capitol Hill visits, MS activists will urge Congress to support:

  • The Advancing Research for Neurological Diseases Act / 21st Century Cures Initiative
  • Funding for MS Research through the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program (CDMRP) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • The Ensuring Access to Quality Complex Rehabilitation Technology Act.

Issue briefs and talking points will posted soon!

Washington, d.c. local info

Share

Conference agenda

A conference agenda will be posted soon!