Skip to navigation Skip to content



National MS Society 2019 State Legislators of the Year

June 1, 2020

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society honors state legislators who have been pivotal in championing legislation that improves the lives of individuals affected by multiple sclerosis (MS) with the State Legislative Champion Award. These lawmakers were recognized by the National MS Society for their efforts in 2019.   

These legislators championed priority policies including home modifications, paid leave, step therapy, pharmacy benefit manager reform, and access to comprehensive health coverage. 


Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson, Senator Toni Atkins, and Assemblyman Jim Wood 


Senator Faith Winter and Representative Matt Gray  


Senator Debbie Mayfield and Representative Ralph Massullo, MD 


Senator Matt Brass 


Representative Melinda Gibbons Prunty 


Representative Patty Acomb 


Assemblywoman Ellen Spiegel 

New Mexico 

Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino  

North Carolina 

Senator Joyce Krawiec and Representative Larry Potts 


Representative Stephanie Klick 


Senator Alberta Darling and Representative Debra Kolste 

Thank you to these lawmakers for supporting the National MS Society’s legislative priorities. 

About Multiple Sclerosis

Multiple sclerosis is an unpredictable, often disabling disease of the central nervous system. Symptoms range from numbness and tingling to blindness and paralysis, and there is currently no cure for MS. The progress, severity and specific symptoms of MS in any one person cannot yet be predicted, but advances in research and treatment are leading to better understanding and moving us closer to a world free of MS. An estimated 1 million people live with MS in the United States. Most people with MS are diagnosed between the ages of 20 and 50, and it affects women three times more than men.


© 2023 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is a tax exempt 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Its Identification Number (EIN) is 13-5661935.