Skip to navigation Skip to content



National MS Society Announces New Activism Advisory Committee

July 30, 2019

The National MS Society is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Activism Advisory Committee. Comprised of MS Activist volunteer leaders and staff, the committee advises the Society’s CEO on how to use public policy to change the lives of people affected by multiple sclerosis. The committee works in partnership with Government Relations Advisory Committees to advance the Society’s priorities at the federal, state and local level. 

The 2019-2020 committee includes:
Jim Brasfield, Ph.D – Committee Chair
Anna Adams
Bruce F. Bebo, Jr, PhD
Alexandra Bennewith, MPA
Kim Calder, MPS
Tim Coetzee, PhD
Kathleen Costello, MS, ANP-BC, MSCN
Grant Couch
Kevin Dougherty
Abby Carter Emanuelson
Dan Endreson
Angel Hardy Heinz
Ashley Kenneth
Karen Mariner, MSS
Eugene May, MD
Sheldon Metz
Seth Morgan, MD
Jennifer Orthmann Murphy, MD, PhD
Elizabeth Page
Leslie Ritter, MA
Mary Rouvelas
Steffany Stern
Bari Talente, JD
Tom Unrath
Brandt Wilkins
Cyndi Zagieboylo

Please join us in welcoming the 2019-2020 Activism Advisory Committee. For more information please contact Karen Mariner at

About Multiple Sclerosis

Multiple sclerosis is an unpredictable, often disabling disease of the central nervous system. Symptoms range from numbness and tingling to blindness and paralysis, and there is currently no cure for MS. The progress, severity and specific symptoms of MS in any one person cannot yet be predicted, but advances in research and treatment are leading to better understanding and moving us closer to a world free of MS. An estimated 1 million people live with MS in the United States. Most people with MS are diagnosed between the ages of 20 and 50, and it affects women three times more than men.


© 2023 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is a tax exempt 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Its Identification Number (EIN) is 13-5661935.