Skip to navigation Skip to content

Clinical Fellows


Difficult Case Discussion Webinars

The National MS Society is pleased to announce the launch of the 2017-2018 Difficult Case Webinars, an opportunity for fellows across the country to present cases and receive feedback from other fellows and reknowned faculty. 

The Difficult Case Webinars are scheduled from 5:45-6:45 pm ET on the second Tuesday of each month as follows:
September 12
October 10
November 14
December 12
January 9
February 13
March 13
April 10
May 15

If you would like to participate and have not already received an invitation, please contact Doris Lill at

Program faculty

Special thanks to the following faculty for joining the Difficult Case Webinars.  To learn more about the faculty below, download their biographies.

Elliot M Frohman, MD, PhD, FAAN, FANA       
Director, MS and Neuroimmunology Center
Professor of Neurology
Dell Medical School at UT Austin
Director, National MS Treatment Training Program
David Paydarfar, MD
Professor and Chairman, Department of Neurology
Dell Medical School at UT Austin
Kent Ellington, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Director, Neurology Residency Training Program
Dell Medical School at UT Austin
Teresa C Frohman, MPAS, MSCS, PA-C, FANA
Managing Director, MS and Neuroimmunology Center
Associate Professor of Neurology
Dell Medical School at UT Austin
Edward Fox, MD, PhD, FAAN
Director, MS Clinic of Central Texas
Clinical Associate Professor of Neurology
Dell Medical School at UT Austin
Esther Melamed, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Neurology
Dell Medical School at UT Austin
Steven Korngluth, PhD
Professor of Immunology
UT Austin
Lawrence Steinman, MD
Professor of Neurology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stephen Hauser, MD
Professor of Neurology
Director, UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences
Eugene O. Major, PhD
Emeritus Professor
Neuroimmunology Branch at the National Institutes of Health

Robert Rennaker, PhD
Professor & Chairman
Department of Engineering, UT Dallas
Howard Weiner, MD
Professor of Neurology

Director, MS & Neuroimmunology Center
Brigham & Women’s Hospital
Harvard Medical School
National MS Society
Associate Vice President, Healthcare Access                                
Kathleen Costello, MS, ANP-BC,MSCN
National MS Society
Manager, Access to Care    
Doris Lill
Collaborative Faculty Mentors:
Rany Aburashed, DO
Institute for Neurosciences & MS

Lee Archer, MD
Professor and Chairman of Neurology

University of Arkansas

Bridget Bagert, MD
Director, Multiple Sclerosis Center
Oschner Clinic
Laura Balcer, MD
Professor & Vice Chair
Department of Neurology
New York University School of Medicine                                                        
R. Nick Bryan, MD, PhD
Director of Diagnostic Medicine

Dell Medical School at UT Austin

Scott Davis, PhD
Associate Professor of Physiology
Southern Methodist University
Steven Galetta, MD
Professor & Chairman
Department of Neurology
New York University School of Medicine
Jeffrey Gelfand, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology

UCSF MS and Neuroinflammation Center
Clinical Fellowship Training Program

Andrew Goodman, MD, FAAN, FANA
Professor of Neurology

Director, Multiple Sclerosis Center
Chief, Neuroimmunology Division
University of Rochester Medical Center

Ari J. Green, MD
Chief, Division of Neuroinflammation and Glial Biology

Debbie and Andy Rachleff Distinguished Professor
Medical Director, MS and Neuroinflammation Center
University of California at San Francisco

S. Andrew Josephson, MD
Chair, Department of Neurology

Carmen Castro Franceschi & Gladyne K. Mitchell Neurohospitalist Distinguished Professor
Weill Institute for Neurosciences
University of California, San Francisco
Editor-in-Chief, JAMA Neurology

Joshua Katz, MD
Co-Director, Elliot Lewis Center for MS
Associate Professor of Neurology
Tufts University School of Medicine
Eric Kildeback, MD, PhD
Research Scientist
Center for Engineering Innovation at UT Dallas
Ellen Lathi, MD
Director, Elliot Lewis Center for MS
Chairman, Clinical Advisory Committee, National MS Society
Robert Lisak, MD
Professor of Neurology
Department of Neurology
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Robert Pace, MD
Institute for Neurosciences & MS

Rebecca S Romero, MD
Founder and Director
Multiple Sclerosis and Clinical Neuroimmunology Clinic
University of Texas Health at San Antonio

Shiv Saidha, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Neurology
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Scott Zamvil, MD, PhD
Donnie Smith Chair in Multiple Sclerosis Research
Professor of Neurology, Faculty Member, Program in Immunology

University of California San Francisco

Robert Zivadinov, MD
Professor & Director
Buffalo Neuroimaging & Analysis Center (BNAC)
State University of NY at Buffalo
Ram Narayan
Fellow in Neuroimmunology, Neuro-infectious Disorders
Neuroimaging and Neuro-Ophthalmology
UT Southwestern/Johns Hopkins/NIH                                                      
Ethan Meltzer, MD
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General and Brigham and Women’s
Inaugural Multiple Sclerosis and Neuroimmunology Fellow
Dell Medical School at UT Austin (July 2018)

2017-2018 Clinical Fellows

Clinical Fellows
Ram Narayan    
University of Texas Southwestern

Lakshman Arcot
University of Washington

Megan Esch       
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Michael Bradshaw          
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Andrea Dellaria
University of Chicago

Nidhiben Anadani
University of Rochester

Daniel Kurz        
Icahn School of Medicine at Mt Sinai

Andrew Romeo
University of California San Francisco

Brandon Moss  
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Anusha Yeshokumar      
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Lindsay Horton 
University of Colorado Denver

David Lapides   
University of Virginia

Maria Del Pilar Guillermo Prieto Eibl        
Ohio State University

Ahmed Obeidat
University of Cincinnati

Mustafa Ansari 
University of Southern California

William Kilgo     
University of Alabama Birmingham
Sylvia Lawry Fellows
Elias Sotirchos  
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Elizabeth Silbermann     
Oregon Health & Science University

Ilena George     
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Kristen Krysko  
University of California, San Francisco

Laura Baldassari               
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Veronica Penyak Cipriani              
University of Chicago

William Conte  
University of Chicago

Difficult case archives

Recordings of previous Difficult Case Calls and other resources for clinicians are available for download. 

Fellow Case Call

December 12, 2017
Presented by:
Ahmed Obeidat, MD, University of Cincinatti

*due to technical difficulties, there are two parts to this video.
Part 1
Part 2

Download the additional relevant articles:

Fellow Case Call

November 14, 2017
Presented by: Brandon Moss, MD, Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Employment opportunities

The Consortium of MS Centers maintains a career center for healthcare providers seeking MS related employment opportunities.  Please visit their website to search postings. 

Fellow spotlight

Laura Baldassari, MD, MHS
Mellen Center for Multiple Sclerosis 
Cleveland Clinic Neurological Institute

"I became interested in MS during my neurology residency. I was fascinated by the pathophysiology of and therapeutic options for MS. I've found it to be the most rewarding subspecialty within neurology, as several medications are now available for its treatment. My goal is to have an academic MS practice involving both direct patient care and clinical research involvement."