Skip to navigation Skip to content

View 2018 mentorship sites

Share

In this article

To apply

Register in the Society's MSGrants system and complete an online application including a personal statement and two letters of reference.

When registering on MSGrants, you will not receive your password immediately (this may take up to two business days), so allow enough time to receive your password and then enter the system to submit your application prior to the deadline.

Boston, MA (Greater Boston Area)

  • Contact: David Young-Hong; david.young-hong@nmss.org, 781-693-5142
  • Start date: June 4st or July 1st
  • Student will rotate through 5-7 Comprehensive MS Care Centers spending 2-4 days at each site. In this mentorship, students will observe clinical practices and gain exposure to the diagnosis and comprehensive treatment of patients living with MS. As well as complementary specialties such as rehabilitation and mental health. 

Chicago, IL

  • Contact: Kendall Hugel; kendall.hugel@nmss.org, 312.423.1108
  • Start Date: July 2 - July 27
  • Student will be hosted at the Northwestern Comprehensive Multiple Sclerosis Center, during which time the student will have access to several MS-focused neurologists and gain exposure to the diagnosis and comprehensive treatment of patients living with MS. As well as complementary specialties such as rehabilitation and mental health. 

Cleveland, OH

  • Contact: Sallie Stephens; sallie.stephens@nmss.org, 513 657 7006
  • Start date: July 24 – August 18, 2018
  • Student will be hosted at The Mellen Center for Multiple Sclerosis Treatment and Research at the Cleveland Clinic, during which time the student will have the opportunity to observe outpatient and rehabilitation clinics. In addition, the student may have the opportunity to observe clinical trials patients.   

Dallas/Fort Worth, TX

  • Contact: Chloe Fields; chloe.fields@nmss.org, 469-619-4712
  • Start date: June 4 – 29, 2018
  • Student will rotate through a Center for Comprehensive MS Care, two independent neurology practices, and the Multiple Sclerosis Adaptive Fitness and Yoga Center. In this mentorship, students will observe clinical practices and gain exposure to the diagnosis and comprehensive treatment of patients living with MS. 

Durham, NC

  • Contact: Paige Dalton; paige.dalton@nmss.org, 336-299-2783
  • Start date: June 4 – 29, 2018
  • Student will be hosted at Duke University Hospital MS Center during which time the student will gain exposure to multidisciplinary MS care. This includes neurology, mental health, rehabilitation and MS clinical research. 

Nashville, TN

  • Contact: Sherry Bramucci; sherry.bramucci@nmss.org, 901-755-0994
  • Start date: July 9 – August 3, 2018
  • Student will be hosted by the Vanderbilt Multiple Sclerosis Center during which time the student will gain exposure to multidisciplinary MS care. This includes neurology, mental health, rehabilitation and MS clinical research. 

New Orleans, LA

  • Contact: Anna Moss; anna.moss@nmss.org, 504-322-3781
  • Start date: The program is designed to work within a student’s schedule for four consecutive weeks. Applicants must note their preferred start date on the application.
  • Students will rotate through multiple centers for comprehensive MS care spending 2-4 days at each center, and will gain exposure to complementary specialties such as neurology, mental health and rehabilitation.

New York, NY

  • Contact: Andrea Arzt; andrea.arzt@nmss.org, 212-453-3215
  • Start date(s): Mentorships are available in June and July for a four-week period. The commitment must be full-time for a consecutive four-week period.
  • Students are hosted at one Center for Comprehensive MS Care, located at a teaching hospital in the New York City-Southern New York area allowing access to multiple neurologists, specialties and interdisciplinary perspectives. Visits to other clinical settings important to understanding the interdisciplinary treatment of individuals with MS are also arranged. 

Pittsburgh, PA (Greater Pittsburgh Area)

  • Contact: Robin Unangst; robin.unangst@nmss.org, 717-509-6301, ext. 62202
  • Start Date: June 4-29, 2018
  • Students will rotate between the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center-  Kaufman Medical Building and Allegheny MS Treatment Center, Allegheny Health Network, two Centers for Comprehensive MS Care. In this mentorship, students will observe clinical practices and gain exposure to the diagnosis and comprehensive treatment of patients living with MS. 

Palo Alto, CA

  • Contact: Amy Clark; amy.clark@nmss.org, 415-230-6678, ext. 75207
  • Start date: The program is designed to work within a student’s schedule for four consecutive weeks between the months of May –September at a time that is mutually convenient for students and clinics alike. Commitment must be full-time for the entire four weeks. Applicants must note their preferred start date on the application.
  • Students will be hosted at Stanford and several other Centers for Comprehensive MS Care in the Bay Area and Sacramento. During which time the student will be exposed to diverse MS care and wellness settings. Applicants should be willing and able to travel to 2-3 additional clinics in Northern California.  

Seattle & Spokane, WA

  • Contact: Piper Reynolds; piper.reynolds@nmss.org, 206-515-4571
  • Start date(s): The program is designed to work within a student’s schedule for four consecutive weeks between the months of May – October at a time that is mutually convenient for students and clinics alike. Commitment must be full-time for the entire four weeks.  Applicants must note their preferred start date on the application.
  • Seattle, WA: Students will rotate through 4 Centers for Comprehensive MS Care, spending 4-5 days at each center: UW Medicine MS Center, Swedish MS Center, Virginia Mason MS Center and the VA MS Center of Excellence.  The student will be exposed to neurology, neuro-radiology, rehabilitation, neuro-urology, neuro-ophthalmology, psychology and other clinical specialties involved in MS care.
  • Spokane, WA: Students will rotate through 3 settings in Spokane, WA, including the Providence MS Center, Rockwood Clinic MS Center, and Northwest Neurological.  The student will be exposed to neurology, neuro-radiology, neuro-ophthalmology, rehabilitation and other clinical specialties involved in MS care.  

Tampa, FL

  • Contact: Sarah Kurtz; sarah.kurtz@nmss.org, 904-332-6889, ext. 41122
  • Start date: Mentorships can take place for any four consecutive weeks from June through August.
  • Students are hosted at the University of South Florida’s Comprehensive MS Center located in Tampa, FL. With over 2,000 MS patients within the system, students will have access to several MS-focused neurologists and gain exposure to multidisciplinary MS care. This includes neurology, neuro-radiology, mental health, rehabilitation, and MS clinical research. 

Share