Skip to navigation Skip to content

Volunteer of the Year


2015 Volunteer of the Year

2015 - William McNally

As a person who has lived with MS for many years, William “Bill” McNally harnesses his experience of the often complex nature of this disease and related challenges in his substantial voice on behalf of the MS community.

Past Volunteer of the Year recipients

2014 - Yolanda Treiguts

Shortly after she was diagnosed with MS in 1978, Oakbrook Terrace, Ill., resident Yolanda Treiguts began helping others living with the disease through advocacy, programs support, promoting volunteerism, fundraising and education.

2013 - Richard (Dick) A. Knutson

Dick’s leadership spans two decades in numerous Society-wide roles, and he always keeps people living with MS at the center of each conversation and decision. What sets Dick apart is the amazing depth of his involvement with the Society. His commitment, positive attitude, ability to motivate others, generosity, and passion for our mission are qualities recognized as the Society’s Volunteer of the Year.

2012 - Dean Munger

Recently retired from General Motors, Dean was the Executive Director of Labor Relations. Dean has served on the Board of Trustees for the National MS Society’s Michigan Chapter since 2003 and as the Chapter Chair since 2008.


2011 - Ryan Asdourian

Since Ryan’s diagnosis of MS in 2008, he has emerged as a visionary leader who tirelessly builds awareness and mobilizes people to join the MS Movement. His dedication and generosity to the community is not limited to his involvement with the National MS Society. As the Seahawk mascot “Blitz,” Ryan has appeared at hundreds of charitable, community and private events for years. 

2010 - Tom Holtackers

Tom's 37-year career as a physical therapist gives him a unique perspective on living, working and thriving with MS, and he is dedicated to sharing his knowledge. His involvement with the society spans more than three decades. He is an active volunteer with the Minnesota Chapter — at programs and events and on countless boards and committees, including more than 20 years on the chapter’s Board of Trustees.

2009 - Kevin O'Sullivan

Kevin's 23 -year commitment to the Oklahoma Chapter not only includes key leadership roles, but ongoing funding of the mission through special event participation and support of the Dinner of Champions. Kevin has completed over 21 consecutive Bike MS events as a key fundraiser and has raised over $20,000 during each of the past two years.


© 2024 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is a tax exempt 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Its Identification Number (EIN) is 13-5661935.