Skip to navigation Skip to content

Clinical Trial: Lipoic acid for Treatment of Progressive Multiple Sclerosis (LAPMS)

Share

Details
Type of MS: PPMS|SPMS
Treatment mode of action: To slow MS progression
Number of Subjects: 118
Medication: Lipoic acid versus Placebo
Location: Alabama|District of Columbia|Oregon|Utah|Vermont|Washington
Institutions: VA Portland Health Care System
  Contact Information
See below for site contacts.

Funding:

National MS Society and VA Merit

Description

Dr. Rebecca Spain, a neurologist at the VA Portland Health Care System, is conducting a multicenter study to see if the over the counter antioxidant, lipoic acid, helps multiple sclerosis (MS) and is safe to take in people with progressive forms of MS. They are looking for individuals over the age of 18 who have progressive MS, are able to walk with or without walking aid, and are able to get brain MRIs to participate in a 24 month research study. Participants will be assigned randomly into one of two groups. One group will received lipoic acid while the other group will receive a placebo (a pill that looks like lipoic acid).

Site Contact:
University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
Lawanda Esquibel
Lawanda.Esquibel@hsc.utah.edu
(801) 587-3864 
 
University of Alabama in Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Kerry Howard
kdhoward@uabmc.edu
(205) 934-1885
 
University of Vermont, Burlington, VT
Emily Azalone
(802)847-6039
Emily.Azalone@UVMHealth.org
 
Swedish Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Laura Johnson
laura.johnson3@swedish.org
(206) 320-7115
 
VA Portland Health Care System, Portland, OR
Lauren Cameron
camerola@ohsu.edu
(503) 494-9548
 
Washington DC VA Medical Center, DC
Heidi Maloni
Heidi.Maloni@va.gov
(202) 745-8000 x57873
 
VA Salt Lake City Health Care System, Salt Lake City, UT
Connie Kawai
constance.kawai@med.usc.edu
(323) 442-5814
 
Dallas VA Medical Center, Dallas, TX
Rehana Hussain
Rehana.Hussain@UTSouthwestern.edu
(214) 648-7244
 
University of Colorado, Aurora, CO
Haley Jones
HALEY.R.JONES@CUANSCHUTZ.EDU
(303) 724-0797

Share


© 2022 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is a tax exempt 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Its Identification Number (EIN) is 13-5661935.