Skip to navigation Skip to content

Black MS Experience Program Series

Share

Black MS Experience Summit
#BlackMSExperience

Being Black with MS carries unique challenges and experiences – from scientific and clinical differences in the disease itself to inequities in the healthcare system and more. The Black MS Experience Program Series is an opportunity to connect with others who understand the distinct experience of life with MS as a Black person. Through special program experiences, we will forge powerful connections, learn from leading scientific and healthcare experts, and give voice to the unique needs of the Black community living with this disease.

2022 Black MS Experience Summit

We are excited to continue our commitment to the Black MS Community and help amplify voices, build connections, and support those affected by MS through a unique virtual program experience. The Summit, focused on Empowerment in Healthcare, will feature dynamic stories and speakers who will address navigating and overcoming challenges in the healthcare system so you can get the care you need. 

Date: June 15-16, 2022
Time: 1–4 p.m. ET / 12–3 p.m. CT / 11 a.m –2 p.m. MT / 10 a.m.–1 p.m. PT

Register Now

Black MS Experience

The Black MS Experience Summit breakout sessions aim to create a safe space to raise awareness and build connections. Breakout session topics include:

  • MS Diagnosis in the Black Community
  • Understanding Clinical Trials and Studies
  • Removing the Stigma of Mental Health Services
  • Challenges that Impact MS Care
  • Nurturing Your Emotional & Spiritual Health
  • Managing Long-Term Outcomes
  • Understanding Treatment Goals
  • Exploring Complementary & Alternative Treatments

Resources

  • Living Well With MS: A Guide For Black Americans: Poet Azure Antoinette and others discuss living with multiple sclerosis in a new documentary. For tips and information about living well with MS, download the companion guidebook.
  • MS in the Black Community: Access resources and clinical information specific to the Black MS Community.
  • Research Studies: Researchers are committed to finding solutions for everyone affected by MS — the very people who hold the key to the answers.
  • Advocacy: Join the movement to advocate for change.

Contributors

We would like to thank all our 2022 program contributors.

Premier Contributor

EMD Serono

Esteemed Contributors

Biogen  Genentech  

Contributor

Sandoz

Share


© 2022 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is a tax exempt 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Its Identification Number (EIN) is 13-5661935.