Skip to navigation Skip to content



National MS Society Announces New Activism Advisory Committee

July 23, 2020

The National MS Society is proud to announce the 2020-2021 Activism Advisory Committee. The committee advises the Society on how to use public policy to change the lives of people affected by multiple sclerosis, identifies current and emerging issues that present advocacy opportunities at the state and federal levels, assess the importance of these opportunities in meeting the needs of people with MS, and provides advice in setting public policy priorities for the Society. The committee includes members of the Board of Trustees, National Board of Directors, MS Activists, community leaders, and Society staff. 

The 2020-2021 committee welcomes abroad:
Jim Brasfield, Ph.D – Current Committee Chair
Anna Adams
Bruce F. Bebo, Jr, PhD
Alexandra Bennewith, MPA
Yvette Brisco
Mara Brough, MPA
Kim Calder, MPS
Tim Coetzee, PhD
Kathleen Costello, MS, ANP-BC, MSCN
Kevin Dougherty
Abby Carter Emanuelson
Jason Dunn
Trevor Hardy
Angel Hardy Heinz – Incoming Committee Vice-Chair
Ashley Kenneth
Karen Mariner, MSS
Eugene May, MD
Sheldon Metz – Incoming Committee Chair
Seth Morgan, MD
Jennifer Orthmann Murphy, MD, PhD
Elizabeth Page
Leslie Ritter, MA
Mary Rouvelas
Steffany Stern
Bari Talente, JD
Cyndi Zagieboylo

Their responsibilities include: 
  • Inform the Society’s annual public policy priorities to be implemented at the state and federal Level, making certain that the issues are tied to the Society’s Strategic Plan. 
  • Review and research emerging issues identified by Government Relations and Healthcare Advisory Committees and other Society advisory committees. 
  • Provide leadership to and ensure the success of Government Relations Advisory Committees. 
  • Advise on strategy to most efficiently advance policy priorities. 
  • Inform specific positions on priority public policy issues, and provide guidance relating to controversial and/or complex issues. 
  • Research issues and participate in work groups to help develop policy positions as needed. 
  • Provide expertise in specific public and private policy areas, as needed. 
The 2020-2021 committee is excited to announce that Sheldon Metz (MS Activist, Texas) and Angel Hardy Heinz (MS Activist, Illinois) will be inducted as Committee Chair and Committee Vice Chair during the October Activism Advisory Committee meeting. Please join us in welcoming Sheldon and Angel in their new roles. 

Sheldon-Metz-DAL.png Sheldon Metz - Incoming Chairangel.jpg Angel Hardy Heinz - Incoming Vice Chair

About Multiple Sclerosis

Multiple sclerosis is an unpredictable disease of the central nervous system. Currently there is no cure. Symptoms vary from person to person and may include disabling fatigue, mobility challenges, cognitive changes, and vision issues. An estimated 1 million people live with MS in the United States. Early diagnosis and treatment are critical to minimize disability. Significant progress is being made to achieve a world free of MS.

About the National Multiple Sclerosis Society

The National MS Society, founded in 1946, is the global leader of a growing movement dedicated to creating a world free of MS. The Society funds cutting-edge research for a cure, drives change through advocacy and provides programs and services to help people affected by MS live their best lives. Connect to learn more and get involved:, Facebook, X, formerly known as Twitter, Instagram, YouTube or 1-800-344-4867.


© 2024 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is a tax exempt 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Its Identification Number (EIN) is 13-5661935.